The history of European integration (overview)

1946	WINSTON CHURCHILL speaks at the University of Zürich
1949	foundation of the Council of Europea
1952	start of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)
1958	start of the <i>European Economic Community</i> (EEC) and the <i>European Atomic Energy Community</i> (EURATOM)
1967	connection of the three European Communities to one acting unit with common institutions
1968	completion of the Customs Union
1978	establishment of a European Monetary System (EMS)
1987	entry into force of the <i>Single European Act</i> (SEA) - first major reform; in particular agreement to establish a European internal market
1992	establishment of the internal market almost completed
1993	entry into force of the <i>Treaty of Maastricht</i> (EU Treaty) - second major reform
	 emergence of the <i>European Union</i> (EU), which comprises the European Communities "EEC" renamed "EC" introduction of a Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and a cooperation in the field of justice and home affairs binding agreement to introduce a common currency
1999	introduction of the <i>euro</i> (€); entry into force of the <i>Treaty of Amsterdam</i> - third major reform
2000	proclamation of the <i>Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union</i> (as non-binding soft law)
2002	introduction of euro coins and notes; ECSC Treaty expires (missions taken over by EC)
2002/03	preparation of a Draft constitution by the European Convention
2003	entry into force of the <i>Treaty of Nice</i> - fourth major reform
2004	signing of the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe
2004/07	Eastern enlargement of the European Union (10 + 2 new member states)
2005	Failure of the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe
2009	entry into force of the <i>Treaty of Lisbon</i> - last major reform - simplification of the structure of the EU; liquidation of the EC
Since 201	 Charter of Fundamental Rights becomes binding primary law Fight against the financial crisis in some euro area member states
	- 0 : 21 2

- 2012: entry into force of the Treaty establishing the European Stability Mechanism
- 2013: entry into force of the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union (Fiscal Pact)